Almost Artisan – Summer Smooches Card

This should be card number 5 from my Stampin’ Up! Artisan Design Team entry.  And it was literally the very last thing I made before I mailed my entry in.  In fact I had a different card ready to go and then when I was preparing for my scrapbook class that week this idea crept in and I made it in the morning right before mailing in my entry.  My creative juices sometimes flow better at the last minute….

I like how this card turned out fun and bright.  This one is 6×3 that I submitted to the contest.  I made some more of these as 5-1/2 x 4-1/4 cards for my Starz team swap today.  There are 3 columns of squares on those instead of 2 columns like this one.

I came up with the cross-stitch idea one night while working on a scrapbook page – I realized the ribbon border punch made the perfect base to pull the Baker’s Twine through for a cross-stitch effect.  The colors are bright in the Summer Smooch Designer Paper – Daffodil Delight, Real Red, Lucky Limeade, Island Indigo – there are a few more in there but those were the main ones that I used.  Here is a view of the inside of the card.

I hope you like it!

