Birds and more birds

I am so very ready for spring to be here. The birds are ready too (at least I think they are).  Today instead of a stamping project I have photos to share of some of the birds that have been visiting my backyard.  The Bluebirds have been house hunting and finally chose a house to build a nest in – I think it is earlier than past years.  I have four bird houses up throughout my back yard.  And I watched the bluebirds go in and out of all of them.  But finally they settled on the same one they normally use each year.

Female Eastern Bluebird building a nest in the bird house

Female Eastern Bluebird building a nest in the bird house

I have spent some morning sitting in the sunroom and watching the birds – and when I have my camera I can sit and wait to get some good photos.  I wanted to share just a few of the bird visitors that have been in the yard recently.

The male Eastern Bluebird sitting on my porch rail.

The male Eastern Bluebird sitting on my porch rail.

 

A mocking bird visiting on the porch.

A mocking bird visiting on the porch.

 

Pine Siskins - tons of them have been here emptying my feeder.  Sometimes there are 25 or so on the ground under the feeder.

Pine Siskins – tons of them have been here emptying my feeder. Sometimes there are 25 or so on the ground under the feeder.

 

The little Downy Woodpecker that visits all the time.

The little Downy Woodpecker that visits all the time.

 

The Red-Bellied Woodpecker - I usually have a pair of them in the yard - I'm hoping they will nest in the woodpecker house this year.

The Red-Bellied Woodpecker – I usually have a pair of them in the yard – I’m hoping they will nest in the woodpecker house this year.

 

A hawk came by last week - I believe this is a Cooper's Hawk.

A hawk came by last week – I believe this is a Cooper’s Hawk.

It is another cold an very windy day here.  The neighbors tree came down last night and broke our fence.  It snapped the tree right in half – it was a dead tree and full of holes – I think that is why the woodpecker’s are here all the time they have been feasting on that tree next door – you should see how many holes are in it.

Have a nice day and think SPRING thoughts!

monika-signature-018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Birds and more birds

  1. I have a bird feeder right outside my scrapbook room window. Thanks for naming some of the birds for me. I’m envious of your bluebird. I don’t have one of those.

Comments are closed.