Friends are Flowers

About two weeks ago I posted a few pictures on my Facebook Business page showing some wood that Greg helped me cut and then Becky helped me paint.  Do you want to see what that wood made?  Here it is:

friends-blocks

It’s a cute project – perfect to put on display somewhere at home or work.  This is actually a My Digital Studio Hybrid project that Cindy and I created for our first retreat this past spring.  I used it for a Stamp Club project this month and everyone loved it.

wood-blocksI bought myself some 2x4s and brought them home.  Greg got out his saw and cut them to size for me.

painted-wood-blocksThen Becky came over one day and we got them sanded and painted and ready to decorate.

As I’m writing this I see that this was a group project!  Back in the spring Cindy designed the My Digital Studio Postcards. The pieces were designed as three different 4×9 postcards and printed through Stampin’ Up!.  Then they were trimmed to fit the wood blocks.  The first card on the small block – was cut in half so each card was enough for two projects.

friend-1

friend-2

friend-3

The postcards were trimmed to fit the wood blocks – and glued on with Multi-purpose Liquid Glue.  Now to add the hybrid pieces. For the top block this is what was used:

  • Big Shot Die Cut Machine
  • Fun Flowers Bigz XL die
  • Primrose Petals card stock
  • Fancy Fan Textured Impressions Embossing Folder
  • Button – in the spring we used the Sale-A-Bration buttons, this time we used the Subtles Designer buttons
  • Island Indigo Baker’s Twine
  • Stampin’ Dimensionals

For the center block this is what was added:

  • Primrose Petals Card stock
  • Strip trimmed from the first post card
  • Big Shot Die Cut Machine
  • Hearts A Flutter Framelit Dies
  • Needlepoint Border Textured Impressions Embossing Folder
  • Itty Bitty Shapes Punch Pack
  • Basic Pearls

The bottom block didn’t have any additional hybrid elements added.  Once the blocks are finished – stack them up for a cute display!

friends-blocks

Thanks for stopping by today!  Stay warm this weekend.  We just had our coldest night – it felt more like December than October.

monika-signature-018

 

One thought on “Friends are Flowers

  1. Love this project. When Jeff feels better I think I need to have him cut and prepare the wood. I need to remember to see it in person the next time I’m at the house. 🙂

Comments are closed.