Our Thanksgiving Visitor

As we finished eating our Thanksgiving meal we had a visitor come to the backyard.

hawk-7There was a hawk sitting on the fence rail.  And he was there for a long time.  He was over by the driveway so I grabbed my camera and snuck out the front door and quietly went around the house to where he was.

hawk-6I carefully approached him while I took pictures until we just had one car between us.  I guess I was a bit to close and he hopped from the rail up to the post at the corner.

hawk-5

hawk-4

Then he got comfortable again lifting up one leg and tucking it under his body.  He sat there for some time and finally flew up into one of the trees.  I did get a lot of great pictures.

hawk-3

hawk-2I’m pretty sure this is a Cooper’s Hawk.  And I believe that he (I guess it could be a she) has been in this area for several years.  I see him periodically but never has he stayed so long – usually he just passing through our yard.

hawk-1

I hope you enjoy these photos.

monika-signature-018

2 thoughts on “Our Thanksgiving Visitor

Comments are closed.