Tag Topper Punch Card

I saw this fun card idea using the Tag Topper Punch and couldn’t wait to learn how to make it.  I did a little searching on Pinterest and found a video from an Australian Demonstrator.  This idea was one that I showed my Stamper’s Club this month and I also used it as a swap for my PAWS Team meeting.

Tag-Topper-SAB-cardI wanted to use some of the Sale-A-Bration FREE products and decided on the Sweet Sorbet Designer Paper and the Accessory Pack with the Baker’s Twine.  Since I had 3 colors of twine I made 3 different color versions of the card and let my Stamp Club decide which one they wanted.

Tag-Topper-Crisp-Cantaloupe

Crisp Cantaloupe

Summer Starfruit

Summer Starfruit

Pool Party

Pool Party

So let’s see if I can explain (with pictures!) how to do this.

  1. First cut your card stock to 8-1/2 x 5-1/2 (that’s your standard half sheet of card stock) – but DON’T score it in the middle like you normally would.  Use a pencil and make a mark on one of the short ends – I marked at 1″.  The punch won’t be perfectly centered but that was ok for me.  You want the same mark on the other end of the card stock but on the opposite side.  You will use these to line up to do your punching.
  2. Make sure the Tag Topper punch is open and wiggle your card stock in.  I have my mark on the right side.tag-top-step-1
  3. Line up the little mark with the edge of the punch. If you click on these photos you should be able to see a bigger version.tag-top-step-2
  4. Once you are lined up then punch.  You end up with this.  tag-top-step-3
  5. See the little mark to the right of the punch?  You should have a matching mark at the other end of the card stock but on the back side.  So do a flip with the card stock and repeat what you just did on the other side.  If your marks aren’t on the same side then your punches won’t line up since this is not exactly in the center of the card stock.
  6. Get out a paper trimmer and put one of the punched ends in the trimmer.  You are going to cut off the little rectangle pieces sticking out on either side of the punch. tag-top-step-4
  7. Now one end looks like this tag-top-step-5
  8. score the punched tab that you have lefttag-top-step-6tag-top-step-7
  9. Turn your card stock around to work on the other side.  I start by lining up the edge that I just created at 4-1/4″ on my trimmer.  Score all the way down to make the center score of the card.  tag-top-step-8
  10. Slide over the card stock to trim away the two rectangles left on either side of the other punched end. tag-top-step-9
  11. And finally fold on the two score lines you created – one in the center and one is the tab. tag-top-step-10Now you can decorate your card.

Tag-Topper-SAB-cardThis is what I used on mine:

  • The card base on my cards is Sahara Sand.
  • I added a Whisper White layer on the inside.
  • Punch a strip 5-1/4″ with the Ribbon Border Punch of the card stock in the desired color.
  • Cut a 2″ x 5-1/4″ strip of the Sweet Sorbet Designer Series paper and attach it to the punch strip and add this to the front panel of the card.
  • Stamp an image – I used Label Love.  I used the ink that matched my punched strip.  Punch it out with the Artisan Label punch.
  • Create a layer for the Artisan Label punch – punch to more in a coordinating color – I used the Pistachio Pudding that is in the paper.  Cut each punch in half in opposite directions and then glue the halves onto the back of the stamped punch creating a mat layer.
  • Punch a Itty Bitty Flower – scrunch it up to get the layers of card stock to separate and give the flower dimension.  Insert a Silver Mini Brad and attach to the Artisan label.  Attach the hole thing to the front panel of the card.
  • Tie the punched tabs shut with the matching Baker’s Twine from the Sweet Sorbet Accessory Pack.  I tied knots in the ends of the twine so it wouldn’t unravel when the card was opened and closed.

Tag-Topper-summer-starfruit

I hope that was helpful and that you can now go and make some of these cards yourself.  They were a lot of fun and unique twist from the normal cards we make.

Enjoy the day!

monika-signature-018

