Ready for Spring? The birds are!

Normally I blog about the birds each spring.  I have Eastern Bluebirds that nest each year in my back yard and raise their family.  They seem to return every year.  I’m a little behind on sharing with you here on my blog.  I did share some on my Facebook page – it’s pretty easy to take a photo inside the bird house with my iphone and then post to Facebook.  The pictures of the birds I take with my Cannon Rebel XTI and apparently I haven’t downloaded photos from there in a while which means I haven’t shared them either.  Yesterday I downloaded all the photos – over 500 – of various things from the last year.  And today I’m going to share some bird pictures with you.  I’m so ready for spring and they are too!

Mama bluebird in the house.  This was the week she was laying her eggs.

Mama bluebird in the house. This was the week she was laying her eggs.

 

2 Bluebird eggs in the nest on March 8th

2 Bluebird eggs in the nest on March 8th

 

Taking a break and getting some water at the fountain

Taking a break and getting some water at the fountain

 

She laid 5 eggs again to start the year.  This was taken on March 13th.

She laid 5 eggs again to start the year. This was taken on March 13th.

 

the Hawk was in the yard recently

the Hawk was in the yard recently

 

Cedar Waxwings come in large flocks and land in the trees.  They are migrating north but seemed to linger here longer than normal this year.

Cedar Waxwings come in large flocks and land in the trees. They are migrating north but seemed to linger here longer than normal this year.

 

The Cedar Waxwings like the blossoms.

The Cedar Waxwings like the blossoms.

 

Cedar Waxwing's at the fountain.  Brightly "dipped" wings in red and yellow on the tail.

Cedar Waxwing’s at the fountain. Brightly “dipped” wings in red and yellow on the tail.

I hope you enjoyed these photos today of the birds.

monika-signature-018

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Ready for Spring? The birds are!

  1. Monika, these are wonderful pictures! I always enjoy your bird pic posts but this year even more so with our hard winter. lol. I’ve never seen Cedar Waxwings before. I’ll have to look them up and see if they are in our area. I enjoy feeding the birds myself and this year went through bird seed like crazy. I fed them 2-3 times a day especially when our temps were in the negative numbers. I’m so thankful for Spring and I’m sure our fine feathered friends are as well. Your bluebirds are lovely and I love their egg pictures. Please share the baby pics sometime for us.

  2. If you lived further up north, you would know why your birds are lingering down south…we celebrated St Patrick’s day with about 6 inches of snow!! So done with winter!

    • I figured that was why they were here so long. Normally I only see the Cedar Waxwings for a few days at most. I think I saw them for at least 2 weeks or more in our yard this year.

Comments are closed.