Scalloped Tag Topper Easter Box

Did you know that the Scalloped Tag Topper punch can be used to make a cute box?  It can!!

Look at this cute little Easter Box that I made recently –

scallop-tag-boxAdorable – don’t you think!

You have to make this box out of designer paper so that you can punch all the layers at the same time.  If you wanted to make it out of card stock you need to alter the instructions just a bit so that you punch one layer at a time.  For these instructions though I’m using designer paper.  I had a box similar to this in my mind and started working on it but then found this specific one on Pinterest and followed it instead.  Sometimes you just don’t need to re-invent something when someone else already did it.  I don’t remember how the original one was decorated but I wanted something for Easter so this was what I came up with.

So here we go:

  • cut your piece of Designer Paper (I used the Crisp Cantaloupe print from the In-Color paper stack) to 6″ x 12″ and score it at 2″ and 4″ along the short side and at 2, 5, 7, 10″ on the long side.
  • Fan fold the paper so it’s a long 2″ wide strip – put each end in the Scallop Tag Topper punch and punch all 3 layers at the same time.  Do this to both ends. scallop-tag-box-1
  • unfold the paper and now you are going to snip in between the scalloped ends up to the score line on each end and then also snip along the score lines on each side up to the score line to create tabs.   scallop-tag-box-2In the photo the left side scallop ends have been glued down already – you can see where the snips are in between each scallop section and then also the ones on the sides.
  • On one end fold back and glue down the two outside tabs – these will be on the outside of the box.  The picture above shows the ones on the left end glued down.
  • the square in the middle is the bottom of the box.  Fold in one of the center tabs, and glue one of the sides (the one without the scallop tab glued down) to it to start forming one side of the box.  Then glue the other side (the one with the scallop tab glued down) to the outside.   scallop-tag-box-3  scallop-tag-box-4
  • Now repeat with the other side and you have a box!    scallop-tag-box-5
  • I also cut strips of Crisp Cantaloupe Card stock using the fringe scissors – crinkled it up and put it inside my box for “filler”, added the candy.  Then fold down the two scalloped tabs that are on the same side as the ones you glued down. I didn’t glue them but just folded them to close the box.  scallop-tag-box-6
  • Use a piece of ribbon to close the box after you fill it.  Pull the ribbon through the holes in the scalloped tabs to tie it shut.   scallop-tag-box
  • Add the decorations to the front.  I wanted an Easter box so I used the Eggstra Spectacular stamp set.  I stamped the Egg and the bunny in Soft Suede ink on Whisper White card stock.  I used my Crisp Cantaloupe Stampin’ Write Marker to fill in the little circles and the bunny tail.  I wanted to punch them out but found that none of our oval punches fit the egg shape – cut guess what did – the oval word bubble framelit!  I used that placing the little tab on the word bubble on the bottom right hand side.  Why?  Because that is where I added the little bunny!  You couldn’t even tell could you?  The little bunny is punched with the Small Oval punch.  Both pieces are sponged with Crisp Cantaloupe ink and added to the box with Stampin’ Dimensionals. scallop-tag-box-detailFinish with a couple of Basic Pearls.  Cuteness!

I hope you like this little Easter box.  I have a couple more Easter projects to share with you.  I realize I’m running out of time so I may have multiple posts over the next couple of days.

monika-signature-018

