Alaska Day 1 – Fairbanks

I’m going to share some about our Alaska trip – some of what we did and what we saw and experienced.  I would definitely recommend this trip and if you go to Alaska make sure to include the land portion of the trip – doing just the cruise you really don’t see Alaska. 

We flew into Fairbanks – and they have a tiny airport – we are from Atlanta, Georgia area and we have a HUGE airport.  So seeing the one tiny building and just 6 gates when we landed – I guess we weren’t getting lost in there! It was rainy when we arrived and transferred to our hotel. Even though we arrived late in the evening (later than planned) our tour guide – Megan –  was still at the hotel waiting to meet us and give us the agenda and info for our first day.  We stayed at the Sophie Station hotel which was nice and had gorgeous flowers outside.

2014 08 25 117

2014 08 25 112On our first day we headed to the Riverboat Discovery Tour on the Chena River. This is the exert from their website and is exactly what we did –  “Your three-hour cruise will take you into the heart of Alaska and introduce you to a family who has made the rivers of Alaska a way of life for five generations. You will see a bush floatplane takeoff alongside the boat, visit the home and kennels of the late four-time Iditarod winner Susan Butcher and see her champion sled dogs in action. Be immersed into the ancient Athabascan Indian culture when our Alaskan Native Guides take you on a personalized tour of the Chena Indian Village. The Binkley family invites you to experience a slice of Alaskan life!”

Here are some photos –

2014 08 25 056

2014 08 25 0182014 08 25 0262014 08 25 0562014 08 25 0252014 08 25 0422014 08 25 0662014 08 25 0502014 08 25 0402014 08 25 050We learned about the smoked salmon, the Iditarod , and how the Athabascan’s lived in the village.  They even served smoked salmon dip on the riverboat – yum!  The young girl – Laura Allaway – talking to us about the Iditarod will be a rookie – racing for the first time – she has already qualified to race.  The race is in March 2015 – and it will be something that we will try to follow this time.  This was a great tour and I would highly recommend it if you are in Fairbanks.

The other thing we did in the landing area was go into the 40Below room!  If you look at the thermometer it was colder than 40 below – more like 50 below! 

40belowafter we came out our glasses fogged up and took forever to clear so we could see again.  So that was just our morning!  I think I’ll save the rest of the day for another post. 

I’ll also have a stamping related post in a little while – but thought you might like the Alaska stuff too.

monika-signature-018

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Alaska Day 1 – Fairbanks

  1. I stumbled upon your page by complete accident and when I read about your trip to Alaska, I got tears in my eyes! You see, I used to live in Fairbanks back in 2003 for 3 years. In fact, I lived at Sophie’s Plaza, the apartment complex next to Sophie’s Station, AND, I used to work for Hertz Rental Car inside the Fairbanks airport. Your pictures moved me to tears because I have so many great memories from there and since I moved back to California in 2006, I have not had the opportunity to go back to Fairbanks. So, thank you so much for giving me a piece of that place I called “home” for a short time.

Comments are closed.