Creative Blog Hop

Today I’m doing something a little different.  I’m participating in a Creative Blog Hop.  A friend and fellow Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator – Rhonda Morgan – tagged me to participate.  I’ve added the link to her blog so you can check it out too just click on her name.  Today is my day to post.  For the hop I’ll be answering some questions and then I’m adding a twist that the others weren’t including.  But I’m wondering if going forward others will (you don’t have to).  I’ll be sharing a creative project!  So here we go.

What am I working on now?  I’m usually always working on a variety of things.  Mostly for the classes and things I have coming up.  I have 2 private card groups coming up – I’ll create 3 cards for each group.  I also have a private scrapbook class this month for a new group of ladies – I’ll be creating 2 layouts for them.   Plus I’m packing for a scrapbook weekend away with another group of friends – a really long weekend and I have to decide what I’m working on and what to take.  I’m sure there will be something I don’t bring that I’ll need.  I’ll be taking mostly personal projects.  These are some that I have going right now – a traditional scrapbook from a trip out west that we took many years ago; a My Digital Studio scrapbook for the Alaska trip we took this year; making some tile coasters for my youngest son to have at college (themed for his school), and a project life album of just every day life.

How does my work differ from others on my genre? Hmm – not sure how to answer that one really.  I think my work is really just whatever I’m feeling at the time.  I think my stuff is pretty clean for the most part and I like things very natural.  I like colors from nature not too bright or glitzy.  I’m not a glitter girl at all.  I don’t know – what do you think?

Why do I create what I do?  I enjoy being busy with my hands.  I don’t often just sit still and do nothing.  And stamping and crafting is just great therapy.  I used to do cross-stitch a long time ago but I was working full time and had three young boys and it took so long to get anything done so I started stamping and making cards because I could get to the end result faster.  Many years later I became a Stampin’ Up! demonstrator.  I create for fun, for my friends, for my family, for my escape from whatever else was going on, because it keeps be sane & happy.  I enjoy sharing with my blog readers, Facebook followers, and everyone that comes to my classes and events.

How does my creative process go?  As I think about what is coming up I am normally thinking of ideas in my head, occasionally I get an idea while I sleep, or while I’m the shower, or some other time I see something and get an idea.  So I may be thinking of ideas for a long time but don’t necessarily do anything with them until much closer to my event.  I often finish creating the night before!  Late at night and at the last minute is when things really start happening.  I do like to plan and make lists and things but the final creative product usually happens at the last minute.  I also feel like the more time I have the less I tend to accomplish – but if I have a tight deadline I can get a ton of things done!  I’m weird like that.  I do also browse pinterest, blogs and other creative places for inspiration and ideas – some projects end up close to the idea I found and other times they end up totally different.
Tag You’re It!  I’m going to tag my friend and another Stampin’ Up! Demonstrator, Diane Squires to continue on the Creative Blog Hop.  Diane and I often chat late at night as we are trying to create – we discuss our businesses and also work through creative blocks together.  I’m so glad that she called me one day and that we have become such close friends.  Stop by her blog to check out what she is working on and visit her on Monday November 10th as she answers the Creative Blog Hop Questions and tags the next person to keep things going!
And here is one of my projects to share with you today.  This one I created for a swap that I participated in.  I think I made about 28 of these – I mailed them in to the swap coordinator and along with everyone else that participated and she divides them up and mails back one of every card in the whole group.  It’s a great way to get lots of different ideas from a variety of other demos.
bearing-gifts-swap-cardI loved the single stamp in the catalog called Bearing Gifts. I had recently made a couple of other cards that used a circle cut out of Designer Paper with an image layered underneath – like a window.  And I thought this stamp would work for that – except for the words at the bottom.
  • So I carefully inked up the stamp with Black Stazon without getting ink on the words.
  • The Polar Bear is watercolored just a bit to give it some dimension.
  • The kids are colored with Stampin’ Write markers – Pear Pizzazz, Soft Sky, Lost Lagoon and a little bit of Sahara Sand.
  • The designer paper is All is Calm Specialty Paper – the square with the circle cut out using the Framelits & Big Shot.  And also a strip of the silver dots on the left side
  • I added 2 strips of Silver Glimmer paper punched with the Scallop Border punch.
  • The card is finished with some Silver Baker’s Twine tied through the edge of the circle.
  • The card base is Lost Lagoon.
I love how it turned out and hopefully the other demos in this WOW Christmas Card swap liked it too!
Thanks for stopping by!  Remember to check back with Rhonda and see what she is up to and check in with Diane too – next week she will post for the Creative Blog Hop and we shall see who she tags.
monika-signature-018
2 thoughts on “Creative Blog Hop

  1. Monika, I so love your style…I am not into glitter either and so really like your style of cards…you always have great ideas and a calm manner of teaching…you are living your passion! See you soon…

Comments are closed.