Watercolor Wings Tea Set

I saw this idea for a tea bag holder and I wanted to recreate it using Stampin’ Up! products.  I do love how it turned out.  It was one of the projects for my Time to Fly class.  This project is for us moms when our kids leave the nest – take a few minutes and have a cup of tea. Of course you can always give this as a sweet gift to someone else that needs a little calming tea.

watercolor-tea-holder E

I stamped the Watercolor Wings butterfly on one side of a piece of white card stock.  Then cut it out with the framelits.  Then I used the stamps again to stamp the other side – good thing this is a photopolymer stamp set – it makes it so much easier to do this.  I folded the butterfly in half and added a notch in the center – that’s where you slide it onto the mug over the string of the tea bag.  I found the perfect little die to cut that notch – it is the handle end of the shovel in the Handpicked framelits set.  It’s the perfect width and is nice and rounded at the end.

After I cut out the center notch I unfolded the butterfly and decided to cover it with some self-adhesive laminating film that I had.  That way it would be a little protected in case it fell inside the cut of tea!  I just used my paper snips to trim around the butterfly and trim out the notch again.  I tried to cut with the framelits but they didn’t do so well on two layers of film and the card stock.

Once I made the little butterfly holder I decided I wanted a little envelope to hold it along with a tea bag.  So I used the Gift Card Envelope die set and cut one from some of the matching Envelope Paper.  I stamped another butterfly to decorate the envelope.

watercolor-wings- E

It sure does make a nice little gift to give someone – maybe buy them a special mug and then just slide the envelope with the tea bag and holder inside it – or even add a gift card if you want.

Thanks for stopping by today.

monika-signature-018

