“Reclaimed Wood” Skinny Snowman

He’s here.  The third card for my “Reclaimed Wood” collection.  I have more ideas to work on but this is the third one – a Snowman.  The other two – the scarecrow and Frankenstein I’ve already shared.  This one I actually created two versions – one I used for my Christmas Card Stamp-a-stack that I had last week and the other was a slightly stepped up version that I did for a swap group.  So let me introduce the Skinny Snowman –

reclaimed-wood-snowman E

Isn’t he fun!  And you might never guess where the eyes and nose come from or the trick for the mouth so I’ll tell you!  I used the Square Pillow Box Thinlits Dies – the little decorative pieces for the details on this snowman.  There is a little strip with tiny pumpkins – snip off the stem and ta-da you have some tiny oval eyes!  Then the little strip with the trees – snip off the trunk and then you get the little pointy nose!  I also used the snowflake element to decorate the hat.  To create his smiley mouth I used my Project Life Journaling pen and traced one of my button containers – it was just the right size and shape to give him a big smile.

This is a skinny card – the base is 3″ wide – Basic Black and then I cut Whisper White strips which are stamped in VersaMark ink with the Hardwood Stamp – it is really light and in real life looks like white-washed wood.  The brim of the black hat is a 4-1/4″ wide strip – so once you add that the card fits perfectly in our medium sized envelopes.

Here is my stepped-up version.

reclaimed-wood-snowman2 E

Can you see the difference?  It’s not easy to see on the photos but I added some embossing.  I stamped snowflakes on the top of the hat and embossed with clear embossing powder.  The brim of the hat is embossed with the Hardwood stamp.  Here is a closer look:

reclaimed-wood-snowman3 E

it just dresses him up just a bit.  But I left that off when I held my Stamp a Stack class because I wanted to simplify it for them – they had a lot of cards to make that day.  You could simplify even more by leaving off the Jolly & Bright from the top of the hat.

Here is a list of all the supplies:

Product List
113439s

$110.00

Links by TheseAreMyStamps.com


Don’t forget about the stamp sale going on this week – through Friday!

Demo_15-Stamps_Ecard3_10.19.2015_NA

Thanks for visiting today.

monika-signature-018

