Chickadee Update

First let me say that we had Tornado Warning sirens going off yesterday morning and for much of the night.  Luckily where I live we really didn’t have anything.  Wind and rain, lightening was about it.  The tornado’s and severe storms where to the west and north of where we live.   School is closed in Bartow county which is to our west and Pickens which is to our north.   They are showing part of Cartersville that is just flat today – totally destroyed.  Our school cancelled the Senior Project Boards yesterday afternoon.  Tyler has his today – I hope he does well.  I hope all my friends that live closer to those areas are ok.  I heard from Cari and she said they were fine.  Pray for all of those affected by these terrible storms – they are saying 200 people were killed across the southeast in these storms.    Greg’s Aunt and Uncle survived a direct hit from a tornado a few years ago – it totally destroyed their house in South Georgia.

I wondered how my baby birds made it through the night…everyone still seems to be in the house – mom and dad are bringing in food this morning.  Here are some of my recent pictures of the Chickadees –

Chickadee babies on 4/21

Chickadee babies on 4-23

Look at us now we look like little birds with feathers!  In this picture I can clearly see 3 babies – so perhaps only 3 of the 5 eggs hatched.  The babies stay 13-17 days in the nest while they grow.  By my estimates we are at about day 14 or 15.

2 thoughts on “Chickadee Update

  1. Hi Monica-we have a nest with eggs in it that are from a Black Phoebe. It is under our waterfall on our rock pool. We have been watching mom and dad go back and forth. She is still sitting on the nest-it has been almost 2 1/2 weeks. Can’t wait to see what comes out. We can’t get to it because we would have to get in the pool which is not very warm yet. I have binoculars!
    Thanks for sharing your babies.

Comments are closed.