Dasher Tile Coasters

This is the best project!  So much fun to make and they will be awesome gifts for almost anyone.   I have been wanting to make the tile coasters with the tumbled tiles for awhile now.  I made them a couple of years ago using StazOn ink and Stampin’ Pastels but I’ve seen other people making them with craft ink.  I had planned on the tiles being one of the projects for my Stamper’s Club this time since we were working on gift giving ideas.  In the Simply Holidays class that Heather Summers had she showed us a tumbled tile project that included a box to hold the tiles – it was perfect!  I made sure I had Craft Ink and Clear Embossing Powder and I went and bought the tiles and was ready to roll.  I decided to use the Dasher stamp set on the tiles and was very happy with how they turned out.

Stampin’ Up! supplies include:

– Dasher stamp set

– Tree Trimmings stamp set

– Baroque Motifs stamp set

– Warm Words stamp set

– Winter Post stamp set (for the tag)

– Craft ink in Chocolate Chip, Old Olive and Real Red

– Clear Embossing Powder

– Chocolate Chip card stock for the box

– Kraft card stock for the tag

– Old Olive or Chocolate Chip 1-1/4″ Striped Grosgrain Ribbon

– Big Shot and Stampin’ Up! Two Tags die

– Red hemp cord (retired SU product)

And non-SU are the Tumbled Tiles and the felt tabs for the bottom of the tiles.

I made up about 4 more sets the weekend after we had our club meeting and I do plan to make some more to have for gifts this Holiday season.

UPDATE: I have been getting some questions on these so here is an explanation of how they were made.

I stamped the images with Craft ink and then covered them with Clear Embossing Powder.  Since I was making a bunch I put them all on a cookie sheet (lined with parchment paper) and put them in the oven – I think each oven varies so you may need to test the temp and time for yours.  I started at 300 degrees and it was taking a very long time so I increased the temp to 350.  It took about 8 minutes for each batch of tiles – I have large cookie sheets so I think I had at least 8 or 10 tiles on it.  You do want them all to lie flat on the tray – I did one batch where I had one leaning up on the edge and it took much longer to heat the embossing powder.  You can see the powder change from powdery to a shiny finish.  If you leave them too long they start to bubble so you do need to keep an eye on them.  Then I took them out of the oven and I had a large towel doubled on my counter – I used a spatula to take them off the tray and place on the towel to cool – they will be HOT – don’t touch them!  After they cool completely add the little felt pads to the bottom so they don’t scratch the table when you use them.   I bought my tumbled tiles at Home Depot and they were about $5 for a box of 9.

Happy Stampin’!

7 thoughts on “Dasher Tile Coasters

  1. Pingback: I Love You Beary Much « Stamping Together At Monika's Place

  2. I love this idea- I was wondering if the embossing powder would be heat safe after it is first heated- I was thinking of making trivets on much larger tiles. I’m new to embossing- I just embossed for the first time our Christmas cards and they turned out beautiful!

  3. Wow, these are stinkin’ fabulous! I am hoping to find time this week to try doing one myself. As I read your blog I found we have more in common – teenage boys and their activities. Mine aren’t so much into sports, but they are Boy Scouts, and both are in band and orchestra at the high school and middle school. Next year they;ll both be in high school, so that should make things easier, I’m hoping… Anyway, thanks for sharing!!!

Comments are closed.