My first card with my new Occasions Mini Stuff

I finally played with my new Stampin’ Up! stuff yesterday!  And here is the first card that I made and my first time ever to use a clear-mounted stamp.  I have only used would mounted so far – but the feel of the clear block is so nice – the grooves on the sides – on all four sides – instead of just two like the would blocks.  I think I’m going to like them.

I love how this turned out!  I used the sketch from the Stamping 411 blog for this week. 

The sketch card is tall and mine is turned to be a wide card but the basic layout remains the same.

I choose the colors Soft Suede and Crushed Curry – why – basically because I had a scrap of Crushed Curry lying on my craft table when I wanted to try out my new Stampin’ Up! Beautiful Wings Embosslits Die.  This new Die will be available in the Occasions Mini Catalog which starts on January 5th.  After I cut the butterflies I remembered that the Razzleberry Lemonade Designer Series Paper has a pretty piece in it that was mostly Crushed Curry – so I pulled that out.  One of my favorite cards that I made this year was a convention project that we made at our STARZ group meeting and it used that same Designer Series paper and the Soft Suede – so I decided to stick to that color scheme for this card.

I sponged all the little butterflies with Crushed Curry ink to give them dimension. And added a piece of cross-stitch thread around the body of the large butterfly – although looking at it in this picture Linen Thread would have given the same look and a very similar color.  So pretend it’s linen thread….

I pulled out my new clear mount stamp set called Well Scripted – this will also be available on January 5th in the new Occasions Mini Catalog.  It is one of my favorite sets from the mini – beautiful script for all the basic occasions.  I mounted it on a clear block, inked it with Crushed Curry ink and stamped it on Whisper White card stock.  I punched it out with the Wide Oval Punch and sponged the edges with Crushed Curry ink.

I also punched out a 1-3/4″ Circle out of Crushed Curry card stock to put behind the greeting.  It was sponged with Crushed Curry ink also.

To assemble the card – fold the Soft Sued in half to form the card base.  Add the Razzleberry Lemonade Designer Series paper strip at the bottom.  I added a piece of Crushed Curry Polka Dot ribbon – tied in a knot.  The greeting was put over the ribbon with Stampin’ Dimensionals.  Then I added the butterflies – the largest one with a Stampin’ Dimensional, the smaller ones with some Tombo Multipurpose Adhesive.

Finally I decided to get out my Spritzer tool and my In-Color Markers – I spritzed with the Soft Suede on the upper portion of the card and with the Crushed Curry on the lower portion, the greeting and the large butterfly.

I hope you like my card – I have lots more fun stuff to play with so check back again.  Have a wonderful Stampin’ Up! Day!

11 thoughts on “My first card with my new Occasions Mini Stuff

  1. Just discovered your site by following the link on a card cased from this one… I love it. I wondered if you have a gallery on Splitcoaststampers, and if so, under what name. I’d like to visit it and see more of your creations. Thanks!

  2. Oh I just love new stuff!!!! I have been using clear stamps for years and I LOVE them!!! Have fun with your goodies. I think your card is beautiful!
    Heather RDH

  3. Great card Monika!! I just love your sense of style and ability to always think outside the box with color. This is fabulous and I agree with Robin…..it’s going into the case file! Thanks for playing along.

  4. What an interesting color combination, I wouldn’t have thought that those two would lend such a soft and sophisticated look, but you sure achieved it here! Thanks too for your explanations on how you made the card, can’t wait to get my hands on some of the Mini stuff.

  5. This is absolutely beautiful Monika! I love how you widened the sketch and those butterflies with that color combo is fabulous! Right into the case file this one goes!
    Thanks for playing along this week!

Comments are closed.