more on the Hugs & Kisses Holder

Hi everyone!  Yesterday was so exciting…. a record number of visits to my blog and lots of comments trying to win the free pass to Create with Connie & Julie – check back tomorrow to see who won.

This is my original Hugs & Kisses holder – Click Here – for the original post.

Based on the comments I received I wanted to show you some more pictures of the Hugs & Kisses Holder project.  I used the Stampin’ Up! Scallop Square Bigz Clear Die (#115950).  I used my Paper Cutter with a scoring blade to score – here are some more pictures so you can see the scoring more clearly.

score on all the dashed lines and punch 1/8" holes at the four circles in the corners

Here is what it looks like on the paper cutter - line up the track in between the scallops on each side.

This is how you line up the diagonal - put the corners in the track and then start your scoring blade where the other lines cross (inside corner) and go out to the outside corner.

Some people also asked about doing this without the Scallop Square Die – and YES you can – any square will work – just divide each side into thirds and score it like a tic-tac-toe board.  I decided to make a larger one today – it takes longer because if you want the edges scalloped you’ll need to do that (the Big Shot did all that work for you when you use the scallop square die) with a border/corner punch.

large Hugs & Kisses holder

My large Hugs & Kisses holder started as a 8-1/2″ x 8-1/2″ square of Real Red card stock.  I used the new Scallop Trim Border and Scallop Trim Corner punch.  With this size square it worked out perfectly with 18 scallops on each side – so divide by three – I scored after every 6 scallops.

I used the Full Heart punch to punch hearts from the Sending Love Specialty Designer Series paper.  I also used the Heart to Heart punch.  I added buttons and brads.  I also used the Big Shot with the Movers & Shapers Curly Label die and the Heart from the Punch Windows dies to create the larger heart.

Here are a couple more pictures.

large Hugs & Kisses holder

view from the top and the tag on the large Hugs & Kisses Holder

I hope that answers all the questions and show you another option on how to make a large version.  The small one is quick and perfect if you need a small something for Valentine’s Day.  The larger one you can give to your sweetheart!

And we have snow here in Georgia!  My Christmas tree is still sitting on my back porch and it is starting to get a dusting of snow.  The kids got out of school early and we are still waiting to hear about tomorrow.  There is ice forming on the roads and the main roads outside our neighborhood have already had gravel/sand put on them.  I’m still waiting on Greg to get home – he decided to stop and get gas for the car before coming home.

We don’t get much snow so I haven’t really looked closely at a snow flake – but today I had on a black coat and went to get the mail and snow flakes were falling on me.  I looked and saw perfect little six point star snowflakes – it was so cool – they were tiny – but more than just little blobs – actual little snowflakes!  And they were so pretty.

I found a new blog today (1/9) called Our Creative Corner and they had a 3-D challenge so I added this to their challenge link.

Thanks for stopping by!

16 thoughts on “more on the Hugs & Kisses Holder

  1. Hi Monika,

    thank you so very much for your nice comment.
    And greetings to your parents. We live 30 minutes north of Munich (Bavaria). Sorry, I wrote your name the english way, I’ve corrected it in my post.

    Kerstin

  2. Thank you for sharing this adorable little box, so clever of you. It’s perfect for so many different occasions, love the color combination and the scallop edge.
    Thank you.

  3. Pingback: Heart Treat Holder « Stamping Together At Monika's Place

  4. Pingback: I {Heart} Hearts – PPA 26 Anything but a Card « Stampin' by Genny's Blog

  5. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #22 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  6. Wow, fabulous project. You have made it look so easy and have inspired me to give it a try. Thanks so much for sharing this with us at the OCC. You rocked the 3-D challenge this week!

  7. Monika- This is very cute! Thanks for sharing how to make it without the Scallop die. I’m planning to try it today for a friend’s birthday gift.

    I hope you enjoy the snow!

  8. I like the idea of a little bigger for those “really special” people! I live in Nebraska and we have LOTS of snow!!! The kids have been off school for 2 1/2 days now. We have had lots of winds which makes it a mess to get around. I really do enjoy your blog 🙂

Comments are closed.