Tumbled Tile Coasters

Today is my Tumbled Tile Coasters class so I thought I would share with you some more designs along with the instructions on how I create my tiles and the box.  I received lots of questions when I posted my other design.  I’ve tried to reply to everyone so hopefully I didn’t miss anybody.

I created two designs using the Elements of Style stamp set coming out in the Stampin’ Up! Summer Mini Catalog on May 1st.

The first one features the large floral image and I added a letter from the Lovely Letters stamp set for a set of monogrammed tiles.  These were done in Chocolate Chip ink.

The second set uses the smaller vine image and the humming bird.  The colors are Old Olive and Ruby Red.

So here are some basic instructions on how I make my coasters.  I  buy Tumbled Tiles from the home improvement store – there are a few different colors – this time I’m using the whiter ones last time I used the ones with some more brown in them.  Then I rinse them in water and set them out to dry usually overnight.

  1. preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. stamp images using craft ink and cover with clear embossing powder.  Tap off excess powder – it should stick to the ink and doesn’t need to cover the whole tile.
  3. set tiles flat on a baking sheet covered with parchment paper
  4. put the baking sheet in the oven – I start with 6 minutes and check to see how they look
  5. it they still look powdery instead of shiny then they need longer – try 2-4 minute increments
  6. my last batch took 11- 1/2 minutes for 6 tiles
  7. remove from oven – don’t touch they are HOT – if needed finish any spots with a heat tool
  8. remove from baking sheet with a spatula and set on a towel on the counter to let them cool
  9. add felt circles to the bottom so they won’t scratch your furniture

The idea for the tiles and the box design came from Heather Summers as part of one of her classes.  She told me I could share the box dimensions with you.  For each box use one piece of 11-3/4″ x 11-3/4″ card stock.  Score on all four sides at 1-3/4″ and 3-3/4″.  After you score there are 4 squares in each corner.  You need to cut away the three outside squares from each corner.  Then cut on two opposite sides to create tabs from the ones that are left.  Here is a photo of what it looks like after you cut.  I also cut a small wedge out of the outer flaps so they will fold nicely into the inside of the box.

To make the box fold two of the tabs in and the fold the flap around and glue in place – I like to use a small amount of Tombow Multi-purpose adhesive.  Do the same to the opposite side.  Then fold in the remaining two flaps and glue them in place.  Tie a piece of wide ribbon around the box – or if you are giving it as a gift tie it over the top of the tiles to hold them in the box.

I hope that gives everyone the information they needed for this great project.  It has been one of my favorite and everyone has loved these.  The Elements of Style stamp set that I used for this project is one of the featured stamp sets during the preview week of Create with Connie and Mary which starts today.

Would you like to WIN a subscription to Create with Connie and Mary?  Each of our team members will be giving away subscriptions on their blogs this week.  To enter to win, all you have to do is leave a comment on our team member’s blog on the day that we are featuring them. To enter to win today, please leave a comment on Mary Brown’s Blog. All the winners will be announced on Saturday, May 1st!

HINT:  On Tuesday, it is MY turn to give away a FREE subscription, so make sure you come back and leave a comment on my Tuesday blog post to get a chance to win!

If you are a winner and have already subscribed, we will refund the price of your subscription!

Don’t miss out on the fun and some great project ideas!

Thanks for stopping by today.

9 thoughts on “Tumbled Tile Coasters

  1. Really love the coaster idea. Never would have thought on that myself. Thanks for the instructions.

  2. Pingback: Herb Expressions Tile Coaster « Stamping Together At Monika's Place

  3. Pingback: My Blog Picks and Posts from Here and There Around the Web #32 « Rogue Thoughts…Jean's Stamping Studio in the Rogue Valley

  4. Hi Monika,
    Thank you for a great design. I loved your choices. Has anyone asked about heating in the oven and the fumes from the embossing? Most craft things I do that need oven heating I use in a large toaster oven out on my porch and it is not used for food. I am always nervous about chemicals in my food oven.

  5. Thank you so much for these instructions! I am pretty good at figuring out the dimensions to make boxes and things. (For some reason Geometry was easy for me.) The thing I have a problem with is figuring out what to make!! I LOVE the idea of a box for the coasters! I wouldn’t have thought of that! I would have just wrapped them with a ribbon. BORING! But this box is not only a gift container, but also a great storage place for the coasters!
    Thanks so much! I am new to your site, but I can’t stay away! Your ideas are FAB-O as my DD says!

  6. I love these! I was looking for another way to use this stamp set and I adore the tumbled tiles you did with it!

  7. Thanks for a great class on the tiles and Congratulations on over 100,000 visits to your blog.

  8. Hi Monika – these are really nice coasters. I’d never thought of embossing them. I do have a question – after you’ve baked them in the oven, is there a fragrance left behind in the oven? Thanks for blessing my day! 🙂

Comments are closed.