It’s Time to Party

The Flip Flop Blog Candy Winners will be announced on Saturday, May 8th.  To find out if you are a WINNER…you need to check the Create with Connie and Mary site no later than Friday, May 14th and send us your mailing address.

This week on Create with Connie & Mary we have had a Tropical Party!  And to finish out the week our challenge was to create a party favor.  Our featured products this week are the Tropical Party stamp set, Island Oasis Designer Series Paper and the Island Floral Stampin’ Up! Die.  A fun set of products and just perfect for a summer party theme.

In my mind I had the thought of creating a treasure chest and filling it with something.  So I set out to create my treasure chest.  This is what I came up with. It is made from the Box #2 Bigz XL Die for the Big Shot and the Top Note Die which creates the curved top.  I started with a More Mustard box and sponged all the edges with Chocolate Chip ink.  Then I cut Chocolate Chip panels for all the sides and the top.  Each of the panels and the top note were run through the Big Shot with the “Distressed” Texture Plate which is part of the #4 Texture Plate kit.  I also punch the panel corners with the Ticket Corner punch and then I sponged all the edges and some over all the texture.  The Top Note is attached on the back with some adhesive and 2 vintage brads.

I let the Top Note curve over the top to create the look of a treasure chest.  I added another brad in the front but there is actually a piece of velcro that holds it shut.

Now I had this cute box and couldn’t decide what to do with it.  It sat on my craft table for a couple of days and then we had Cinco de Mayo and I was thinking about Margarita’s – apparently I was still thinking about when I woke up Thursday morning because I woke up knowing exactly what I wanted to do.

I pulled out a Margarita Glass and went to the store to get a little bottle of something.  And when I was done I had the cutest party favor for an adult tropical party!  Adults need party favors too – don’t they?A margarita party favor – complete with a glass, a bottle of tequila, salt for the glass and a little umbrella.  The only problem I ran into was that the bottle would not fit in my treasure chest without cutting a hole in the side and I didn’t want to do that.  So I added a flower to the bottle and set it in the glass.  All the flowers are Rock-n-rolled using Pumpkin Pie and Melon Mambo ink.

And inside the Treasure Chest is the salt – which is inside a small cello bag which has been folded over and stapled and I added a belly band.  And the little drink umbrella.

I added a decoration to the stem of the glass –

It actually looks so fun – I think I need to have a party just to make these to decorate the table.  This was a fun challenge !

It also looked cute with the salt and umbrella in the glass which leaves my treasure chest empty – maybe fill with candy or a gift card to a Mexican restaurant if you need to give a gift to someone.

Check out what the other designers did with this theme challenge:

Connie Babbert – Inspired Treasures

Kerin Sylvester – Stamps, Paper, Glitter

Mary Brown – Stamper Camper Corner

Supplies:

Sets:  Tropical Party (w118515, c120081)

Inks:  Chocolate Chip Classic Ink (100908),  Pumpkin Pie Classic Ink (105216), Melon Mambo Classic Ink (115656), Stampin’ Write Markers – Old Olive (100079) Chocolate Chip (100071), Pumpkin Pie (105115), More Mustard (100076), So Saffron (105114), Melon Mambo (116329)

Cardstock:  More Mustard (106542), Chocolate Chip (102128), Whisper White (100730)

Accessories:  Big Shot Die-Cut Machine (113439), Texture Plates Kit #4 (114531), Texturz Impressions Pad (114614), Texturz Silicone Rubber (114615), Top Note Die (113463), Box #2 Die (114518), Ticket Corner Punch (107214), Wide Oval Punch (112082), 1/16″ circle punch (101227), Island Oasis Designer Series paper (117173), Linen Thread (104199), Sherbet Designer Buttons (116312), Earth Elements Brads (106955), Vintage Brads (109109), Small Cello Bag (103104), Sponge Daubers (102892)

4 thoughts on “It’s Time to Party

  1. Oh wow! Great design on the treasure chest. It totally looks like one. And I love the idea of what you’ve put inside!

  2. Pingback: InkspiredTreasures.com » Blog Archive » Coconut Shaped Favor Box and card – CCMC2

Comments are closed.