Almost Artisan – Card 4

And I’m  continuing on with  my projects that I created for the Stampin’ Up! Artisan Award Contest.  This is another card that I made.  I know it is the wrong season for this winter card but I love how this technique turned out.  I originally used this on a scrapbook page and decided to create a card for the contest using the same technique.

This is my bleached snowman card.  I love the snowmen in the Holiday Lineup stamp set.  They are just so fun.  I cut out a Top Note with the Big Shot from Close to Cocoa card stock.  I stamped the snowmen with Chocolate Chip craft ink and embossed them with clear embossing powder.  This makes what I call little “walls”.  Then I used fresh bleach in an aquapainter (I have one that I only put bleach in).  And put bleach on the places that I wanted to be lighter – the snow parts.  The bleach on the Close to Cocoa gives a Very Vanilla shade rather than white so the rest of my decorations were in Very Vanilla. The “walls” help keep the bleach from seeping into sections that you don’t want bleached.

The background is stamped with the snowflake from Tree of Friendship using Very Vanilla Craft ink.  I also pulled the edges of the card across the ink pad to add some color there.

The card itself is not a traditional card opening. Instead the two end fold up to the center and the Top Note with the snowmen hangs over the front.  The picture on the left shows you what the card looks like when it is opened.  The inside panel was also decorated.

I added some Bashful Blue Designer Series Paper, a punched Very Vanilla Snowflake, Very Vanilla Satin Ribbon, and a Chocolate Chip corduroy button all tied together with some Linen Thread.

My pictures are a little bit dark but I think you can see it all.

I think so far I’ve shown 6 of my 10 projects.  I hope you’ll be back to see the rest.

These snowman look so cool on a hot day – we have bright sun today and a perfectly blue sky – not a single cloud was out this morning when I walked.  And Kyle walked with me – we went all the way around our big neighborhood loop.  I had forgotten how big those hills are.  I think we walked about 45 minutes.  Then I took Ryan to tennis camp.  I have a workshop tonight at Kimberly’s house – going to pack up for that now – it should be fun!  And yesterdays Simply Adorned class was great.  I can’t remember if I have shared those ideas with you or not – I’ll have to do that this week too if I haven’t already done that.

Thanks for stopping by today – have a great day!

6 thoughts on “Almost Artisan – Card 4

  1. Such a cute card!!! I love these snowmen 🙂 You come up the most creative cards – please keep it up.

  2. So,so cute!I love the way your bleaching technique looks on these little guys.And the layout is so cool! I can’t believe you weren’t chosen for the award. Your projects are gorgeous:-) I would really love to see the rest of your projects!Thanks for sharing.
    Inky hugs,
    Janet

Comments are closed.