Almost Artisan – 3D Basket

Well this post is my last project for the Artisan Award contest.  I really loved how this turned out.  It is based on the little Hugs & Kisses holder I created earlier this year – click here to see it – for that one I used the scallop square die and the Big Shot.  For this one I started with a 12×12 piece of card stock and if I remember correctly I had to trim it down to 11-3/4″ x 11-3/4″ so that I could use the Scallop Trim Corner and Edge punches to get an even scalloped edge on all four sides.

I know that there are several instructions and videos on how to use the corner and edge punches together.  I have tried those and by the time I get to the fourth side I no longer have a square or rectangle so I had to come up with what worked for me.  I punch all four corners first and then fill in between with the edge punch.  In order for this to work though you need to start with a size that allows even scallops on each side.

Anyway I got the scallops even all the way around and added a little white gel pen dot on each of the little scallops.  Then each side has a piece of So Saffron Designer Series Paper.  I decorated each of the sides – here are some close up photos of those:

The base is stamped with the large swirl from Baroque Motifs on each side using Old Olive ink.  This first side has a scalloped layered flower and butterflies.  I used Ballet Blue and So Saffron as my colors.  The center of the flower has an embossed button tied with linen thread.  The large butterfly has a beaded body and it is layered with several butterflies from the Beautiful Wings Embosslit die.

The second side as a bluebird made from the two-step bird punch.  I used sponges to add the colors – Ballet Blue and Really Rust to create the bird which was punched from the Naturals White card stock.  Then some little flowers from the Trio Flower punch and the Little Leaves die was used for branches.

The third side is similar to the first just rearranged differently.

The fourth side is similar to the second side.

I think this would be a really pretty center piece on a table for a bridal shower, wedding or other spring/summer event.  Or change the colors and decorations for whatever season you need.

Here is a view from the top  looking down. 

I filled the inside with some straw after tying up the centers with some of the Old Olive Satin Ribbon.  This would have been pretty for Easter with an egg nestled in each section.

That is the last of my Artisan Award projects that I entered into the contest.  Looking back now at my projects as compared to the retired list and colors – I think I used lots of retiring product – not that we knew any of that before our projects were mailed in.  But I guess my work is not in the current style that they may have been looking for.

There is always next year……

Thanks for visiting!

Want to see the rest of my projects that I entered – CLICK HERE.

Want to see some other Almost Artisan projects – CLICK HERE.

4 thoughts on “Almost Artisan – 3D Basket

  1. All your projects were beautiful! I especially like this one you did, loved the colors you used. I wouldn’t think they would base an award on if something was discontinued or not that’s something you wouldn’t know ahead of time. Thank you for sharing all your projects!!

Comments are closed.