Dogs are Everywhere!

I joined a new demonstrator group earlier this year – a group that shares ideas and business tips.  They have a dinner and swap at convention so I signed up to attend along with my 3 room mates.  The card swap for had some specific rules or guidelines that  I found quite challenging.  I decided that the reason I waited so long to make all of my swaps for convention was because I was struggling with what to do with this one.  So here are the specifics that I had to work with:

– Colors: Cherry Cobbler, Basic Black, Whisper White

– Theme: Whimsical or Funny

– Royal in nature with bling

Somehow for me the whimsical/funny didn’t go with royal bling – but I thought through it and played around with various ideas until I finally came up with something and everyone I have showed my end result to has loved it!  I’m so excited that they liked it and I hope the ladies I’m swapping with like it too!

Here are all the pieces of my card.  It was a lot of pieces and next time I need to do a swap with not so many pieces and steps.  Can you see what it is – little heads and little bodies…..

Here they are all finished – do you see the dog bones, the dog, the newspaper rolled up in his mouth?

It is my punch art dog and I forgot to take a picture of my inspiration – it is a piece of metal art that hangs on the wall by the garage door.  This piece happens to have the head and legs that move so my card is supposed to resemble that – so I call it my bobble-head card.

The dog is made out of punches and the legs are dangling – they are attached with brads so they move.  The head moves because I attached it to a jumbo brad that is then inserted through a hole on the embossed Cherry Cobbler layer and it rotates around.

My “bling” on my card include 3 brads on the left side and some chunky glitter – I don’t know how easily you can see it in the picture so here is a close up of his head.  The nose is covered in black chunky glitter and his tongue is covered in red chunky glitter.

The newspaper in his mouth is a piece from the new News Print Designer Series paper.  The tail is a thin strip of Basic Black card stock curled around a skewer to make it curl up.  I shaded all the punched pieces with Black StazOn ink – for me the regular basic black looks to much like purple when I use it for sponging.  I added spots cut/punched from pieces of black card stock or with a black marker.

He really is a funny little dog with a bobble-head.  I’m also going to demo this card at the Udderly Awesome gathering at convention.  I hope I don’t get to nervous showing it in front of people.  I did pre-assemble most of the dog parts ahead of time.  I’ll come back after convention and add more on the punched pieces for the dog.

And I forgot to get a picture of the inside.  By the way the “Heard the News” was made using My Digital Studio and printed on card stock and punched out.  I’ll show you later how to create the bone shape.

Have a “dog-gone” great day!

8 thoughts on “Dogs are Everywhere!

  1. Pingback: Bobble-head Dog « Stamping Together At Monika's Place

  2. I love it as you know I would. I would love to make one of these. So cute and cleaver. Lot of pieces but when it was all together—- what a great card. Can’t wait to see it in person.

  3. Wow, the bone turned out perfect and I love the glitter on the tongue! This card and the bird house card are now my favorites that you have made! I am sure everyone loved them.

  4. OMGOSH! This card is SOOO unique … simply super! Can’t wait to get more info on how you made it so I can give it a try! I can use it, adapting the greeting to an upcoming birthday. I am positive the demo will be a HIT! And I agree … you should get an award for this one! You should totally hook-up with Jackie Topa; you’d be two peas in a pod for sure!!

  5. WOW WOW WOW–or should i say WOOF WOOF WOOF!!! that card should win a WOW art file award!! please please please can we make this, or some easier version of it, at RMH? the kids would go crazy for it!

    way to go…i’m sure you’ll be a HUGE hit demoing that…

Comments are closed.