Gingerbread House Scrapbook Layout

I have another fun Christmas Scrapbook Layout to show you today.  This was the second layout for my scrapbook class earlier this month.

This is my Gingerbread House layout.  You could use other titles on this – Gingerbread Boy, Gingerbread Cookies, Holiday Sweets, Cookie Exchange, etc.  My other thought was to take the white gel pen and right above where it says “Gingerbread” and write “The story of the…..”

I haven’t decided for sure which pictures I’m putting on this page – either pictures from one Christmas of one Gingerbread house or pictures of our Gingerbread houses from several years.  If I do that I’ll add another ‘s” to the end of house.  I remember growing up and every December we had Gingerbread houses all over our house – why you might ask?  My dad is a baker (retired now) and had a German bakery near our house.  In December he made and sold lots of Gingerbread houses – my mom decorated them at our house and then they took them back to the bakery for everyone that placed orders.  I’ll have to ask him how many houses he used to make each year.  I wonder if we have pictures from back then of the Gingerbread houses all over our house.

This layout also came from a sketch that I saw in a scrapbook magazine.  The base is Chocolate Chip.  I started by adding the Real Red piece which has the white gel pen stitching on one side.  Next to it I added a piece of Wild Wasabi that was wheeled with the Retro Remix Stampin’ Around Wheel and Wild Wasabi ink.

I cut two Top Notes using the Big Shot and Crumb Cake card stock – each one was cut in half.  The edges were sponged with Chocolate Chip ink and then I added some doodling with the white gel pen.  Three of these were tucked just under the edge of the Real Red card stock.  On the center one is the saying from the Sweet Season stamp set – colored with Stampin’ Write markers on Whisper White card stock and punched out with the Decorative Label punch.

The title is Crumb Cake card stock cut with the GoGo Boots Alphabet Sizzlits die set and the Big Shot.  These are also lightly sponged with Chocolate Chip ink (you have to be gentle so you don’t tear them) and the I added some highlights with the white gel pen.

The Chocolate Chip strip has the Gingerbread Man accent – he is from the Got Treats? stamp set.  The punches are 2-1/2″ Circle in Wild Wasabi, 2-3/8″ Scallop Circle in Chocolate Chip, 1-3/4″ Circle in Real Red, and 1-3/8″ Circle punch in Whisper White.  The Gingerbread Man is stamped with Chocolate Chip ink and then I punched tiny buttons using the Crop-a-Dile – one in each color and glued them on.  There is stitching and doodling with the white gel pen.  And Got Merry? punched with the Word Window punch.

The right page mimics the left side except over here I have a smaller strip of the Wild Wasabi and one giant Top Note.

Create a template by taking a Top Note and enlarging it on a copy machine to fit on an 8-1/2 x 11 piece of paper.  Cut that out and transfer the design to a piece of card board – I use the pieces that come in my Designer Series Paper packs.  Cut that out and then you have it for tracing on your card stock and it last for you to use over and over again.  I traced it on a piece of Crumb Cake card stock and cut it out, sponged the edges and added the white gel pen stitching.

Then to finish it I punched two holes with the crop-a-dile and pulled through a piece of the wide striped Real Red ribbon.  If you start by pulling both ends through from the front to the back – then cross them and pull each end back from the back to the front.  Adjust it and trim the ends and it looks like a piece of wrapped peppermint candy.

I hope you like it. I thought it was a fun layout for the holidays!

So I have a few quick family updates on the boys in case you are interested….from youngest to oldest…

Ryan – he found out this week that his braces are ready to come off – he only got them on in January this year – unfortunately he has finals this week and we could not work out his schedule with their schedule so he will get them off as soon as they get back to work in January.

Tyler – he found out that he was accepted at Kennesaw State University – I may have already told you that it was a couple of weeks ago. So number two will be in college this fall.

Kyle – he found out that he got a job as a teaching assistant for one of the computer science classes at Ga Tech for next semester.  Very exciting since he is my quiet child and he just told us that he applied for the job when I took him back to school after Thanksgiving.  There were 51 applicants for 7 slots.   He’ll be home from college this Friday.

We have ice here tonight (Wednesday night) – the boys are waiting to hear if school is canceled for tomorrow – not sure what they will do about finals – I guess have all of them on Friday which is the last day of this semester and the last day before break.  I’m off to wrap some more presents.