My Digital Studio Hybird Owl Card

Owl’s are all the rage but they are also the school mascot for my KSU Card club.  So last week when we had our monthly club meeting I wanted to make a fun owl card for them.  I decided to use My Digital Studio and have them make a hybrid card.  What is a hybrid card?  It is when you combine digital elements with traditional elements to create your card.  I was really happy with how cute this card turned out.

Isn’t he cute?  The big owl is the digital part.  I used My Digital Studio with the following Digital Downloads –

– Two-Step Owl Punch

– Botanical Gazette Designer Series paper

The fun thing about My Digital Studio is that I was able to take the different elements from the Owl punch and make them larger.  I made them large enough that the took up the whole front of the card.  I filled the different punch pieces with designer series paper or card stock.  The eyes are all “popped up” by adding drop shadows – same with the heart.  I created the owls on an 8-1/2 x 11 album page and put four on a page.  Here is what it looks like.

  With four owls to a page I printed them on Whisper White card stock.  Then cut out the owls to make the cards.  Each card is on a So Saffron card base that was stamped with the Sanded background stamp inked in So Saffron ink.  The cut out owl is put on the card with Stampin’ Dimensionals.

Next I used the heart shaped Bitty Button – added some Linen Thread tied in a bow – and put it on top of the heart on the owl using a Mini Glue Dot.  I love the little heart button.

I used the Family Phrases stamp set to add a greeting on the owl.  My sample has Happy Birthday stamped on it.  But the girls at the class could choose what they wanted. I think the cutest one was actually the “Love You Much” stamp.

The third class in my MDS class series will include this as a make&take project.  This class will be in May and we will explore how to use MDS to create hybrid projects and for making cards.

I’m having lots of fun creating with My Digital Studio and love the idea of hybrid projects  – it opens up a lot of possibilities!

Have a great week and create something fun!