Sweet Shop Happy Birthday Scrapbook Layout

At my March Scrapbook class we made two layouts – one was the bunny layout I showed you yesterday and the other was this fun Happy Birthday layout featuring the Sweet Shop Suite from the Stampin’ Up! Occasions Mini Catalog.

This was a fun layout that I saw in a scrapbook magazine and I wanted to adapt it to my Stampin’ Up! products.  I used Whisper White for my background  and started by drawing a grid on each page.  I used a ruler and my Stampin’ Write marker to draw the grid because originally I planned to just use the marker lines as part of the layout.  But then I decided to use the Baker’s Twine instead.  To do this I put a very thin line of the multi-purpose liquid glue (the one in the green bottle) right on top of my marker lines and then laid the Baker’s Twine in the glue – it dries pretty quickly. I used Calypso Coral for my layout but we have all this year’s in-colors in the twine so any of them would have worked that match this paper.

Here is a drawing of my grid on paper -you should be able to click on it and see a bigger version.  I tried to mark what goes in each spot – Designer paper, picture, title, journaling…

The Designer Paper is the Sweet Shop – it has some embossed patterns which add some fun texture to this layout.

I also added stickers from the coordinating designer stickers – these make fun little accents on this layout. The stamp set I used is the Take a Spin set – I stamped the birthday spinner image and cut it into triangles – then added a colored circle and one of the Sweet Shop Jelly Bean brads to the point before putting it on the page.  I add a little banner using punches from the pennant punch.  The Fashionable Hearts Embosslit Die and the Happy Birthday Strip die (for the title) finish up the page.

Now it just needs some fun happy birthday pictures on it.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Sweet Shop Happy Birthday Scrapbook Layout

Comments are closed.