The Red-Headed Woodpecker

Another dose of wildlife updates.  I added a Woodpecker House to my backyard this year and I’m really hoping someone will use it to lay their eggs this year.  I was very excited to see a Red-Headed Woodpecker looking in the house several times the last few days.  He (or she they look alike) has been around the yard a lot – or maybe it is two different ones.  I have only seen one at a time so I’m not sure.  Here are some pictures –

In this first one he is checking out the house.  It is mounted on the top of our play set.  Since the boys are older they don’t use it anymore and I thought it would be good because it is high up and amongst the trees but if I climb the ladder to get to the top of the play set I check inside the box.  We’ll see if it works.

He spent a long time on this tree, sitting on the branch, then climbing on the truck.

Here he is flying from one feeder over to the other.  I think the Red-Headed Woodpecker is just so pretty.  The distinct lines between his red head, black shoulders and wing tops, and then the white, ending with a black tail and a tip of white.

Red Headed Woodpecker

Enjoying the suet feeder.  I think this one is the Peanut Butter and Jelly Suet.

 

And then I have a picture of the Red-Bellied Woodpecker (different from the Red-Headed Woodpecker) enjoying the suet feeder.  He has also taken a peek or two inside the house.

femail red-bellied woodpecker

Actually I think this is a female because she has the gray crown.  That is supposed to be the only difference between the male and female Red-Bellied Woodpecker. I’ll have to keep my eye out now that I know how to tell them apart.

Someone asked me about woodpeckers pecking on their house so I did a bit of reading about that – I know I hear them sometimes and today the Red Headed Woodpecker was on my chimney cap – rat-a-tat-tat-ing away until I came outside to look at who it was.   This is from the Alabama Wildlife Conservation Association website (Alabama’s state bird is a type of woodpecker).

So why do they do it – first they are trying to establish territories and find a mate – this is usually in the spring and is a drumming sound; second they are looking for food – usually a few pecks, check your house for termites; third they are excavating a nesting cavity – this is not usually done on a house.

How can I get them to stop?  1.  Give them a good scare – make noise, hang foil from the eaves.  2. Create a barrier between them and the house – hang mesh over the site.  3. Give them something else to peck on – leave the dead trees in your yard.  4. Remove the woodpecker – call a professional – woodpeckers are protected by law so you can’t harm or trap them.  None of these are guaranteed to work.

Have a great day and keep your eye out for the woodpeckers in your yard!

2 thoughts on “The Red-Headed Woodpecker

  1. Thanks Monika for all the information. I didn’t know the difference between the male and female, so that will be interesting to watch as we have a lot of red-headed woodpeckers (who do a lot of pecking). We have all kinds of trees (live in woods) so don’t know why they like our house. Good news is that I’m hoping it is just because they are mating — I hope it isn’t because we have termites!!!!! Great pictures!!

Comments are closed.