Utah Divas Color Challenge – #34

Hello Tuesday!  The Utah Diva’s Color Challenge is here again.  This week we have a pretty color combination – Perfect Plum, Old Olive, Marina Mist and Basic Black.  I also added Whisper White as my neutral.  Here it the inspiration piece that we have this week:

Click on this link to go to the  Utah Diva’s Color Challenge blog.   There you can see the creations from the entire design team and add a link to your creation if you decide to play along.

This week I have a beautiful card for you – at least I thought it turned out that way.

How do you like it?  It really turned out pretty.  I started with a card base in Perfect Plum and it is stamped with the Sanded Background stamp in Perfect Plum. I actually tried several different things – including adding an embossed layer and a textured layer and none of them were working for me – when I finally settled on just stamping it was perfect.   I pulled out the Big Shot – not sure what I did when we didn’t have it in our product line – this is the Scallop Oval Frame die.  I cut one in Basic Black and one in Whisper White.  The white center oval was stamped with the large flower image from the Just Believe stamp set in Old Olive.  Then I sponged the bottom with Old Olive.  Next I sponged Marina Mist around the rest of the oval to make it look like the sky.

I cut the white scallop frame into two pieces and attached  each piece to the back of the black scallop frame so it just peeks out and creates a small frame.   Add some doodles with the white gel pen around the frame.  I tied a piece of Marina Mist Taffeta ribbon around the frame and placed the frame on the card from with Stampin’ Dimensionals so it was raised.  Then I put the stamped oval inside and glued it flat to the front of the card – I did this so it had the illusion of being inside an actual frame like a picture on the wall would be.

To finish I added some butterflies cut with the Beautiful Wings Embosslit cut from Perfect Plum card stock.  And the little pearls.  I really love using the basic pearls – and the easiest way to pick them up and place them is to use the tip of the paper piercer.  It works like a charm.   I hope you like this card today!

Take a minute to visit the UDI site and play along with us this week.

Stampin’ Up! Supplies:

  • Card stock:  Perfect Plum, Basic Black, Whisper White
  • Ink: Old Olive, Marina Mist
  • Stamp sets: Just Believe, Sanded
  • Accessories:  Big Shot Die Cut Machine, Scallop Oval Frame die, Beautiful Wings Embosslit, Marina Mist Taffeta Ribbon, Basic Pearls, Paper Piercer, White Gel Pen, Stampin’ Dimensionals.

To order Stampin’ Up! Supplies to make this project click here.

3 thoughts on “Utah Divas Color Challenge – #34

  1. Monika. . .I really like this card….the more I look at it, the more I REALLY like what you did. Glad you left the base card with a simple background stamp, too. TFS!

Comments are closed.