Color Challenge – UDI #37

Oh my goodness – I knew I was forgetting something yesterday but couldn’t figure out what it was.  It just hit me!  I needed to write my blog post for today for the Utah Diva’s Color Challenge.  Oops!  I’m here now.  So on to today’s challenge……

This weeks color combo was a more neutral muted combination of colors.  While our inspiration picture was a purse with flowers I decided to go a different route – and ended up with something probably more suited for a boy.  Here is the inspiration picture:

Click on this link to go to the  Utah Diva’s Color Challenge blog.   There you can see the creations from the entire design team and add a link to your creation if you decide to play along.

And here is the card I created based on a sketch and card idea from a paper craft magazine.

It isn’t one of my favorites but it includes all the colors for this challenge.  The base of the card is Soft Suede, then I have a layer of Basic Black.  On each end of the black is a strip of Pear Pizzazz that was embossed with the Big Shot and the Square Lattice embossing folder – I also punched out a notch – I was sure I had them lined up because I punched them a the same time but it turns out I had one flipped the wrong way and I wasn’t quite in the center – although I did try to measure for the center.  So I’m not really happy with it.

The Wish Big is from the Word Play stamp set that is on sale this month – so if you want this set make sure to buy it now.  I stamped it on the black with Versa Mark ink and covered it with White Embossing Powder and heat set it.  In the two notched out areas I added White Jumbo brads and then on the brad I stamped with Jet Black stazon the little star from Itty Bitty Bits (I think that is what it is called – I need to double check).  Then I punched large stars from Basic Gray, Pear Pizzazz, and So Saffron – two of each and they are stacked with dimensionals in between – so there is dimension to this card that you can’t see in this photo.  It makes a good boy card and isn’t everyone always looking for boy cards?

So there you have it – my color challenge card for the week.  Take a minute to visit the UDI site and play along with us this week.

Stampin’ Up! Supplies:

  • Card stock:  Soft Suede, Basic Black, Pear Pizzazz, Basic Gray, So Saffron, Whisper White
  • Ink: VersaMark, Jet Black StazOn
  • Stamp sets: Word Play, Itty Bitty Bits (I had it right)
  • Accessories:  White Embossing Powder, Heat Tool, Big Shot Die-Cut Machine, Square Lattice Embossing Folder, Jumbo Brads, Star Punch, 1/2″ circle punch, Stampin’ Dimensionals.

To order Stampin’ Up! Supplies to make this project click here.