UDI Color Challenge #40

Wow!  Did you visit during the Blog Hop this weekend?  I hope you did and that you took the time to hop through – did you know that you went all the way to Australia and New Zealand on the blog hop!

Today we are back to the Utah Diva’s International Color Challenge.  I hope you’ll visit the blog and see all the other designer projects too.  It’s always interesting to see how different the projects are that we create with the same set of colors.  We are on week #40 and the inspiration picture inspiration picture was a lovely bedding ensemble – there were just three colors for us this week – Early Espresso, Bashful Blue and Whisper White.   I really wanted to add just one more color (Crumb Cake) but I didn’t – I followed the rules…

I looked again through my stack of retiring stamp sets to see what might inspire me with these colors.  I came across one of the A La Carte stamps – Baby Steps – the cute stamp with the two elephants.  When I was in school I collected elephants – so I always like things with elephants on them.  I got this stamp set at the first of the year – but haven’t actually used it.  And now it’s retiring so I thought I better hurry up and get some ink on it.  It really is so cute and these colors this week would be perfect for a little baby boy card.  So here is what I made –

Very simple and clean looking.  The base is Early Espresso, the first layer is Bashful Blue that was embossed with Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder.  I wrapped some Early Espresso Satin Ribbon and tied it in a knot.  I added two little tags (Jewelry Tag punch) one in white and one in blue – I stamped ‘baby’ from Tiny Tags and hand wrote ‘boy’ with a Stampin’ Write Marker.

I inked the Baby Steps stamp in Bashful Blue and then used the Early Espresso Stampin’ Write Marker to color over the “congratulations” and then stamped it on the Whisper White.  I stamped the image again on another piece of Whisper White so that I could cut out the big elephant and pop it up on top of the first one.  I used the marker to darken the eyes.  Layer the white on Early Espresso and added it to the front of the card with some Stampin’ Dimensionals.   I hope you like it!

Click on this link to go to the  Utah Diva’s Color Challenge blog.   There you can see the creations from the entire design team and add a link to your creation if you decide to play along.

Stampin’ Up! Supplies:

  • Card stock:  Early Espresso, Bashful Blue, Whisper White
  • Ink: Bashful Blue, Early Espresso Stampin’ Write marker
  • Stamp sets: Baby Steps, Tiny Tags
  • Accessories:  Jewelry Tag punch, Early Espresso Satin Ribbon, Big Shot, Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder

To order Stampin’ Up! Supplies to make this project click here.