Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving!

I posting today and not tomorrow.  We’ll have a house full here at my sister-in-laws house in VA.  Actually we already have a house full – 10 of us right now, we’ll add 3 more tonight and another 6 tomorrow and possibly 2 more.  It is a gathering of all the cousins – Gregs’ 3 cousins and their families and his Aunt are joining us this year.  We have lots of good food planned – and Stephanie, the organized one, has everything ready ahead that can be made ahead.  Greg’s mom has been baking cakes, Stephanie will be making pies today, and then we have a couple of casseroles to fix in the morning and the turkey to cook.  Lots of good food!

Today’s project is my Thanksgiving card – the card idea came from a swap I saw from the Udderly Awesome group meeting last month.  I didn’t attend the meeting – it is in California and I’m in Georgia, but because of the sharing that all demos do I was able to see this card on photos and blogs.  I don’t know who created this actual card but I pretty closely copied the one that I saw.  The front of the card features a punch art Crow!  He (or she) is the funniest thing.  I have another blog that I frequent and I think she is actually the creator of the punch art crow is Ellen Kemper – I don’t know if she made the swap card or not.  I decided to make a diagram of parts to make it easier to see the pieces of the crow.

I used Basic Black, Dusty Durango, Bravo Burgandy, More Mustard, and Very Vanilla.  And lots of Stampin’ Up! punches.  The hat is textured with the Perfect Details texture plate and then sponged with Bravo Burgandy ink to make it resemble a straw hat.  The wings are textured with the small dots.  For the legs I used black crochet thread.  On the inside of the card is another piece of Dusty Durango so you have a place to write on the inside of the card – you can leave it as a rectangle or cut it with the top note like the front – I made one each way.  I think he is funny! 

I’m thankful for family and friends and everyone that I have met through Stampin’ Up!  and for Stampin’ Up!  I’m thankful that our family is healthy, happy and safe.    Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  Be safe in your travels and enjoy your family.

3 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. The crow looks good! I (Ellen) am the original creator of the crow but not of the swap card you got. And you got really close to my original directions – just a couple of differences but yours work just as well.

    Can I tell you how fun it is to see ladies actually using ideas I had? I just love it! Thanks for the credit.

    And I love whatever was used for “ribbon” – that is the perfect look to go with the crow.

  2. Oh Monika, how darling he is. I love him. I will have to make him up for next year and put him away. Thanks for the inspiration, and may you and your Family have a Blessed Thanksgiving.

    Trish in Wisconsin

Comments are closed.