UDI – Color Challenge 5

Welcome to week 5 of the weekly Color Challenge over at the Utah Diva’s International Blog.  Gretchen picked some bright spring colors this week.  At least I think they are very spring like.  I always start by pulling out the colors for the color challenge and putting those pieces of card stock on my craft table.  I had them out while I worked on other projects.  I didn’t have anything in mind so I just wanted to look at them for awhile.

I was working on another project with the Just Believe stamp set and the Butterflies from the Beautiful Wings Embosslit.   I decided the colors for the color challenge could be flowers or butterflies so I started rolling around different ideas in my head.  And this is what I came up with.

I pulled out my Stampin’ Pastels – I have the new box with all the new colors in it and I haven’t used them yet.  I stamped the large floral image from the Just Believe stamp set in VersaMark ink and then used the Stampin’ Pastels to color the image.  This technique is called “Poppin’ Pastels”.  I use qtips to add the color and it sticks to where you have the VersaMark ink making the image “pop”.

Then I cut butterflies with the Big Shot and the Beautiful Wings embosslit die.  I added those scattered around the flowers.  And then I added the little pearls to some of them.

The last thing I did was add some sparkle to the whole card.  You can’t really see it in the picture I took of the whole card.  So I took a close up while I held it up in the sunlight so you can see the fine sparkle that is all over the card.  I hope you can see it – it really sparkles.  I used an empty Stampin’ Mist bottle that I cleaned – I put some rubbing alcohol in it and mixed in some Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint.  Shake it up and it sprays out a fine shimmery mist over your card.    I did do this inside my Color Catcher so I won’t shimmer my craft table!

Now it is your turn to play with these colors – then go to the UDI blog and add your creation to the linky section.  I can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Stampin’ Up! Supplies:

  • Card stock: Certainly Celery, Perfect Plum, Baja Breeze, Pacific Point, Tempting Turquoise, Whisper White
  • Ink: Pacific Point, Certainly Celery, VersaMark
  • Stamp sets: Just Believe
  • Champagne Mist Shimmer Paint
  • Basic Pearls
  • Big Shot Die-Cut machine, Beautiful Wings Embosslit
  • Modern Label Punch
  • Stampin’ Pastels
  • Stampin’ Sponge
  • Color Catcher
  • Q-tips, Rubbing Alcohol, fine mist spray bottle

To order Stampin’ Up! Supplies to make this project click here.

I’m starting a new round of Monika’s Blog Bingo today – this is Group 5.

It’s BINGO TIME!  We are playing Round 5 of Monika’s Blog Bingo.  I’m currently taking names for Round 7.   See this POST for more details on how to join, how to play and the previous winners.

Here is piece #1  –the Pear from Cheep Talk stamp set (stamped in Pear Pizzazz).

3 thoughts on “UDI – Color Challenge 5

Comments are closed.