Convention Roommate Gifts and UDI Color Challenge

Well when I am pressed for time I try to double dip and get two things accomplished at the same time.  I knew that with it being the week of convention the only way I was going to get my Color Challenge done was to use it for something I was working on for convention.  And as it turned out I ended up using this weeks color challenge to create one of my roommate gifts.  I made the same gift for all my roommates and my upline but each one was a different color combination.  I’ll show you the one that fits the Color Challenge today and then later in the week I’ll show the rest and the instructions on how I made them.

Here is the inspiration piece with our colors for this week: A swimsuit featuring Tempting Turquoise, Basic Black, Concord Crush and Certainly Celery.  Earlier I had sent each of my roommates a convention getting to know you survey – so we could all learn something about each other.  One of the questions was what is your favorite color.  As I looked through them I saw that my roommate Dawn listed purples and blues as her favorite color so I decided she would be my Color Challenge project.  And I went to work with my idea – I actually had the idea for a while I just waited until the last minute to actually try to implement it.  So here it is:

This is what I’m calling a Demo Board.  It is actually two sided so you can use both sides.  It was an adaptation of a project I saw on Wendy Wexler’s blog.  My idea was to use this for classes, clubs, or workshops – on the top is a clip for you to clip the card that everyone is making.  On the bottom is the Decor Elements chalkboard where you would write brief instructions, measurements or information that everyone needs to know to make the card.  You can set it in the center of the table and have one card on each side.  Here is what it looks like with a card clipped to the top.

 

Click on this link to go to the  Utah Diva’s Color Challenge blog.   There you can see the creations from the entire design team and add a link to your creation if you decide to play along.

Stampin’ Up! Supplies:

  • Card stock:  Whisper White, Certainly Celery
  • Ink: Concord Crush, Certainly Celery, Tempting Turquoise
  • Stamp sets: Butterfly Prints, Creative Elements
  • Accessories:  On Board Long Board, Patterns Designer Series Paper – Subtles, In-Color, Concord Crush Ribbon, Crop-a-Dile, Glimmer Brads, Brights Buttons, Baker’s Twine, Wide Grosgrain ribbon, Anywhere Glue Stick, Scallop Trim Border Punch, Butterfly Punch, Chalkboard Decor Elements sheets, binder clips

To order Stampin’ Up! Supplies to make this project click here.

 

One thought on “Convention Roommate Gifts and UDI Color Challenge

Comments are closed.