How to make scallop squares & rectangles

When I first saw the Square Framelits Collection in the new Stampin’ Up! catalog all I could think of was that large Scallop Square and that it was going to be an easy way to make scallop squares and rectangles in many sizes.  And now it’s 6 months (or more) later and I never even tested my theory – until last night.  Good news – I was right!

First cut the full scallop square using the die and the Big Shot.  Then position the die on the cut piece to create the size square or rectangle that you want – just use the scallops as your guide to lining up the die.  And if you have the magnetic platform it will stay in place once you get it in position.

Look at this….

scallop-1This first picture you can see that I just slid the framelit die over to make a rectangle.  Add the top cutting plate and cut it a second time and you have a scallop rectangle.

Here is another one

scallop-2For this one I moved it in both directions – still creating a rectangle – since I didn’t move the same number of scallops going across as I did up.

And here is a square –

scallop-3To get a square you have to move the die the same number of scallops in both directions – in this photo I moved over 4 scallops in each direction.  And then cut it again.  Here is the result.

scallop-4

A smaller scallop square!  Just think layers of scallop squares – you can just keep going smaller and smaller.

What do you think?

Now I need to come up with a card or project using this idea.

monika-signature-018

3 thoughts on “How to make scallop squares & rectangles

  1. Thanks Monika! I was very disappointed when they retired the Squares Duo die. It’s so nice to still have a way to make them:) If there’s will, there’s a way with stampin’, right?

Comments are closed.